ADVERTISEMENT

Pitt baseball and Joe Jordano

First let me say I think it is a little unfair to post negatively about Joe Jordano. He isn't making enough money and isnt enough of a public figure to be talked about on message boards. When you throw in their teacher salaries, there are probably WPIAL baseball coaches who make more money and have higher home attendance than Jordano.

Also, let me say, I am no expert in college baseball. I go to a few Pitt games a year and watch a few online. Sadly, that probably makes me one of the program's biggest fans, but that is another problem.

When I watch Jordano's teams, they never appear to be poorly coached. I don't think actual coaching is the problem. Its purely a talent issue. Pitt has gone from a mid-major baseball league to the #1 league in America (this year, at least), and the talent level is roughly the same.

Pity, in my estimation, has only 3 ACC level players in Leblanc, Yarnall, and Zeuch. You can swap the rest of the team with any mid-major player from the MAC, Horizon League, etc and there would be no difference. Penn State, who is not a good program, who plays in a very mediocre league is better than us. They have better players and that is embarrassing. Using basketball as a comparison, Big Ten baseball equals Atlantic 10 basketball. An OK league, not bad, not great. There should be no reason for an ACC program like Pitt to be at a talent disadvantage when playing Big Ten schools.