ADVERTISEMENT

Rossi's article on MLS in Pittsburgh

Sean Miller Fan

Lair Hall of Famer
Oct 30, 2001
http://triblive.com/sports/riverhounds/8554492-74/soccer-pittsburgh-riverhounds#axzz3d8kG6YJA

He is way more optimistic than I am on the city landing an MLS team, but I've been saying for a few years to keep an eye on this. The MLS is experiencing massive growth, so much so that Commissioner Don Garber's original plan to grow to 24 teams by 2020 is now being re-thought and with so many "minor league" soccer cities just killing it in attendance and interest, they may not have any choice but to eventually get to at least 30.

Now, Rossi's and Shallenberger's (Riverhounds owner) idea of adding 13,000 seats to Highmark Stadium and having an MLS team play there is beyond ridiculous. The idea of of adding seats over top of West Carson street and having cars literallly tunnel through your stadium simply is never going to happen and with so many attractive MLS expansion markets, Pittsburgh would have to have a much better stadium plan than that. Heck, Sacramento's USL side averages like 20K per game and already agreed to build a soccer-specific stadium downtown and they weren't picked.

With the MLS granting an expansion team to the Atlanta Falcons' owners to play in the new downtown stadium (with awesome "downsizing" technology) and with reports that Beckham's MLS Miami group may partner with the University of Miami for a joint stadium, I believe that a possibility exists in the future for 1 of 2 things:

1. A joint Pitt/MLS stadium