ADVERTISEMENT

OT: "The highest grossing concert tour in history"

It really is unbelievable how much these musicians make on these tours. My wife is about to fork out a small fortune to take our daughter to a Taylor Swift concert this year.

It’s a shame I have zero musical talent… between the money and the women it would’ve been a nice gig.
Ironically, Elton John is not interested in the women.

When I was an undergrad, Elton John had just released his iconic "Goodbye Yellow Brick Road" album.

The annual "Greek Sing" competition was being held at the Carnegie Music Hall in Oakland.
images

The last contestant was a pianist. He began to play "Goodbye Yellow Brick Road".

Then, the audience organically began to sing the lyrics in unison. It was a totally unexpected and an incredible experience...the musician totally connecting with his audience and vice versa. It was mesmerizing to witness.

The pianist received a standing ovation and there was no doubt he was going to win the competition.

The audience pleaded for an encore. The pianist obliged, sat down and began to play more of this Elton John classic, the audience gleefully singing along. Afterwards, he received another standing ovation.

The judges announced the competition winner and a shocked audience began to boo and scream their displeasure.

The pianist, who stole the show, was disqualified for going over his time allotment!

was an elton john / billy joel concert years ago that i had a chance to go to but didnt, always regret that..

Reactions: noelr
it's been going on for a few years now, so make sense. Caught two of his stops on this tour, one at PPG Paints and the last one at PNC Park. Great concerts.

Probably about as difficult as ever to make money as a new band. But yeah - the established acts have figured out that people will pay a lot to see them.