ADVERTISEMENT

wrestling recruiting

Warriordan

Freshman
Gold Member
Aug 13, 2001
does anyone know if pitt is done with recruiting or do the have anymore scholarships to give.

They are still recruiting. They will probably sign some kids after states. I do not believe there is money for any top recruits. Best bet for top recruit would be via transfer.

Last edited:
I have no knowledge of possible transfers, but that is usually quiet until NCAA's are over.

They are still recruiting. They will probably sign some kids after states. I do not believe there is money for any top recruits. Best bet for top recruit would be via transfer.

Who are the top kids in Pa? UPS will get them but I was just wondering.

Virtually all of the big name PA guys have already committed at this point. And Ohio State was the big winner in PA this year.

I'm sure there may be a few "diamond in the rough" type guys to take a shot with though.

Saenderson is very particular about the PA wrestlers he recruits. He only went after Teasdale after Suriano wanted to transfer. Rutherford, Joseph and Nolf are from PA, but most of their wrestlers aren’t. I think Hall is from Minnesota and Nickels from Texas. I don’t know where the 197 pounder is from (who replaced the kid from Kiski). He really isn’t our primary competition for PA kids.

Cael was always recruiting Teasdale. Teasdale left Iowa before Suriano decided to transfer. PsU will recruit all the elite PA kids. He just cannot take all of them.

Saenderson is very particular about the PA wrestlers he recruits. He only went after Teasdale after Suriano wanted to transfer. Rutherford, Joseph and Nolf are from PA, but most of their wrestlers aren’t. I think Hall is from Minnesota and Nickels from Texas. I don’t know where the 197 pounder is from (who replaced the kid from Kiski). He really isn’t our primary competition for PA kids.

Thank you, interesting info.