ADVERTISEMENT

OT: All serious charges dropped against PSU frat brothers in pledges death....

This will be appealed. Involuntary manslaughter is a serious offense and their actions led to this young man's death.
uh, I am also not a lawyer but I went to school at a time when in lieu of "transgender bathroom theory" terms like "double jeopardy" and the bill of rights were taught...best case is they go the oj route and drum up some civil charges somehow.

Reactions: PantherDDS
This will be appealed. Involuntary manslaughter is a serious offense and their actions led to this young man's death.
Again not a lawyer, but how can the prosecutor appeal charges that were thrown out? I would assume that is it for criminal court at least for the most serious charges. There is still going to be a trial.

And of course, the victim's family will pursue civil action.

Reactions: Cavalier Panther
Was jeopardy determined?

uh, I am also not a lawyer but I went to school at a time when in lieu of "transgender bathroom theory" terms like "double jeopardy" and the bill of rights were taught...best case is they go the oj route and drum up some civil charges somehow.

Sad. Poor actions have limited consequences... just like college football teams that break the rules.

I've never seen so much energy expended for the preliminary hearing. Not a lawyer but my understanding was this was just to determine whether there is enough evidence to go to trial. In most cases the defense usually just waves it.

The Penn State machine will fight tooth and nail against anything that dares tarnish it.

Reactions: DiehardPanther
This was just a preliminary hearing meaning all the Commonwealth had to prove was a prima facie case meaning it's more probable than not that the accused committed the crimes.