ADVERTISEMENT

OT: NEC and Duquesne football

Huh? Its the 4th largest city in Pennsylvania behind Allentown, which has Lehigh in the town right next to it. I consider Lehigh to be in the "Allentown market." Can you find any cities larger than Erie without a D1 team in its market?

Metropolitan Area Populations

8. Philadelphia–Camden–Wilmington
27. Pittsburgh
67. Allentown–Bethlehem–Easton
95. Harrisburg–Carlisle
100. Scranton–Wilkes-Barre
104. Lancaster
116. York–Hanover
124. Reading
187. Erie

This awesome if true. I have said for years that Erie should have a D1 team and that Erie is probably thr largest market in the country without one. I'd love to see Pitt basketball play a "road game" at Erie Insurance Arena vs Mercyhurst. Would be great for NET and the place would be 75% Pitt fans.
How big is that place?
The longest rivalry in sports!
I'm sure there were lacrosse rivalries before the Euro invasion!!

I’ve been hearing IUP and Cal to D-1 for almost 30 years. If it didn’t happen already, I don’t see how they could justify moving up in light of the state system’s glaring financial issues.
I used to spend Lot of
Time in Indiana, Pa in the early 80’s for work. There were bumper stickers everywhere that said “Play Penn State by ‘88”.

Reactions: JD1976
And then right on the other side of Lehigh is Lafayette.

Yea, Lafayette is right there too but Lehigh literally is on the Allentown border. I am actually curious though if Erie really is the largest city without a team. I mean I know Anchorage doesnt have 1 but there's so many D1s that you figure it has all the larger markets covered. I love this move by Mercyhurst. Erie needs a D1 team and its a really good sports area. They'll support that team.

Reactions: HailToPitt725