ADVERTISEMENT

Reminder: Pitt Day of Giving today

I got a phone call today from a young man at Pitt. He asked me to donate. I told him I donated $100 last week because the president waved 1.2 billion in tuition loan relief. I told him as a tax payer I am probably on the hook for $100 because the tax payers are going to have to come up with 1.2 billion.

I can’t wait for people on this board to shove it up my ass for the above comments. That’s just the way I feel. My wife and I worked our asses off to pay for 3 children’s higher education. 2 went to Pitt and 1 went to a Big 10 school.

If I took my wife to Maui for 10 days and dropped $15,000 with Marriott and Delta, would I give them $100 the next year as a donation because my vacation was such a great experience I want to help defray the cost for some other vacation goers. Maybe not the same comparison but then again. I’m a proud Pitt grad but I’m just not donating money.

Let’s discuss.

I got a phone call today from a young man at Pitt. He asked me to donate. I told him I donated $100 last week because the president waved 1.2 billion in tuition loan relief. I told him as a tax payer I am probably on the hook for $100 because the tax payers are going to have to come up with 1.2 billion.

I can’t wait for people on this board to shove it up my ass for the above comments. That’s just the way I feel. My wife and I worked our asses off to pay for 3 children’s higher education. 2 went to Pitt and 1 went to a Big 10 school.

If I took my wife to Maui for 10 days and dropped $15,000 with Marriott and Delta, would I give them $100 the next year as a donation because my vacation was such a great experience I want to help defray the cost for some other vacation goers. Maybe not the same comparison but then again. I’m a proud Pitt grad but I’m just not donating money.

Let’s discuss.

Do you complain when the government subsidizes rural air routes and the result comes from your taxes or leads to higher ticket prices?