ADVERTISEMENT

Was Sean Miller really

a candidate for the Pitt job in 2018?smf and others kindly respond .

Yes. He desperately wanted the job (to be fair, he saw the writing on the wall at Az) and Heather considered him and vetted him but the Pitt General Counsel gave a negative opinion. If she had given a favorable opinion, that doesn't necessarily mean he would have been hired but its possible.

Reactions: balboa10
Don't tell SMF, but...

"Miller actually attended a ceremony to induct Lane into the Pitt Hall of Fame last year, he said, and he has remained close to the university -- though he said Saturday he had never come close to taking a coaching job there."
Close is a relative term. The GC said no and we ended any consideration. I never said Heather had 3 meetings with the guy

He 100% had a conversation with Pitt. I'm not a pro-SMF or anti-SMF guy, but he's right here.

Right, I mean was Pitt "close" to hiring him? That depends on how you define it. They didnt have a contract drawn up or anything but Pitt either spoke with the Miller camp, either directly or indirectly (not sure) and they seriously considered him before the GC decided there was too much risk.

Reactions: buckage
Right, I mean was Pitt "close" to hiring him? That depends on how you define it. They didnt have a contract drawn up or anything but Pitt either spoke with the Miller camp, either directly or indirectly (not sure) and they seriously considered him before the GC decided there was too much risk.
Thanks SMF . The Sean deniers are a joke

Sean can save face all he wants publicly but he was campaigning for the Pitt job behind the scenes, and Pitt’s higher ups after doing their due diligence said “Thanks but No Thanks”.
In his best days he would not have resorted to this (nor would have Pitt) but think of the straits both were in at the time and it certainly makes sense that the feelers were offered and considered.