ADVERTISEMENT

MAPL HAMPTON

ILMPanther

Walk-on
Feb 9, 2014
I know PittDan was interested in this so I’ll post. First of all, the sacrifice to make this post is not nothing as my daughter, a player, called it “creepy” that I was watching other players. So I’m at the Mid Atlantic Power League (MAPL) in Hampton, VA. Kind of a strange set up with 3 divisions. The divisions are Black (15u-17u), Blue (14u-16u), and another with mostly 14u teams. This is ripe for some mismatches. All teams play in a morning and an evening session in pods of 3 teams.
Some of the players that I’ve seen that are solid D1. I will assume that Pitt at least looks at some of these players. Take my posts with a grain of salt as I’m far from an expert.

Isabelle Bardin: Metro 17 Travel. She’s a 6’2” setter who I think played with Ryla Jones in high school. She’s, from what I’ve seen, a good setter. Her hitters clean up a lot of errant sets. Back setting appears to be a weakness. She’s athletic with quick hands and feet. Should be a good one.

Leni Stanton-Parker: Metro 17 Travel. A spectacular hitter with an apparent 10’6” approach. Easily the best player here that I’ve seen so far.

Britni Silver: East Carolina Junior VC 16u. This is a girl I saw play against my daughter’s high school. A great athlete who has her moments but seems a bit disinterested here. She’s a hitter with a great vertical. When I saw her play in the regular season she completely took over the game. She also plays basketball so who knows how into volleyball she is right now.
I guess it depends on which sport she focuses on but she would certainly be big time in volleyball.

Last edited:
Reactions: pittdan77