ADVERTISEMENT

Pickett has nobody to blame but himself.

MorningCoffee13

Redshirt
Aug 23, 2023
First off I truly believe 8 is the most talented QB on the Steelers.

Getting hurt was not his fault but his tepid and perhaps timid? conservative? fearful? performance allowed the gutless Tomlin to go with QB3 because the fans called for it.

I recall all of the tweets during training camp from the supposed Pittsburgh media and they all said that the biggest difference in camp is how confident Pickett had become. Even Kabooly tweeted that.

So Kenny was given the keys to the kingdom and he allowed a 3rd stringer to take his job. That’s on Ken.

I have been an engineering Manager for a long time and hired countless engineers. Some had really great promise and for whatever reason they could never turn their scholastic success into working success. At least not in my groups. Was it them? Was it me? Yes to both sometimes. But most of the time it seemed to be them because even after they left they were just average performers.

So I do understand situations are different but Ken must spend this off season figuring stuff out and working with the best trainers he can possibly pay for. And perhaps best mind coaching as well.

What I think happens though is that Tomlin leaves. That was a dramatic walk off yesterday afternoon and I don’t think you dismiss what that may mean.

It would not shock me to see Mike McCarthy get fired and the Steelers go after a “local guy”. If that happens Ken then gets a fair shot at proving himself but may not like the results. McCarthy has at least seen a very good offense and a very good QB for a few years so his judgment would be pretty clear.

I do think that Tomlin’s handling of the QB situation this year was poor and his decisions actually handcuffed him all year.