ADVERTISEMENT

Pitt reaches agreement to buy PAA building

Reposting these images again, because why not?

q0cz3bpbu3s9ybm3kjqo
ciruss1dbwssleu9f8wl
ecvmozxtzxyoxetyi0a6
rasgtfxb5cujaad8ogid
f5qqjwoow4mkwdt1sfmz.jpg
nmm1akv3kp8btpnggozk

albums%5fpittsburghathleticassociation13%2ejpg
albums%5fpittsburghathleticassociation17%2ejpg

When I was an undergrad, my fraternity had our alumni reception there the Friday night prior to what I think was a Notre Dame game. Having top shelf drinks with a roomful of pretty successful business men and other alums as a long haired, 19 or 20 year old, was certainly an experience!

Knock down the Oaklander, and a few other buildings and build a stadium on the Syria Mosque site

$12 million. The claim they spent $25 million in renovations (wink wink nudge nudge) so it can appear as if they didn't make a profit.

Just FYI, that $25m figure was the cost that was reported 3 years ago when they were still trying to find tenants.

I'm thinking that was really not much of an exaggeration.

interior-restoration-and-conservation-fine-art-architectural-restoration-ceiling-pittsburgh-athletic-association-main-hall-1.jpg

interior-restoration-and-conservation-fine-art-architectural-restoration-ceiling-pittsburgh-athletic-association-grille-room-1.jpg

You can see some of the results of the restoration here:

interior-restoration-and-conservation-fine-art-architectural-restoration-ceiling-pittsburgh-athletic-association-main-hall-5.jpg

interior-restoration-and-conservation-fine-art-architectural-restoration-ceiling-pittsburgh-athletic-association-main-hall-4.jpg

interior-restoration-and-conservation-fine-art-architectural-restoration-ceiling-pittsburgh-athletic-association-oaklander-hallway-3.jpg

From Fine Art Restoration's webpage: