ADVERTISEMENT

Steelers acquire Justin Fields for a 6th round pick

Honestly, they traded up from Kenny. Although i liked our Pitt guy, i think they made this move to give them more potential upside. That said only time will tell if it was the right move.
By trade value , which is a market price, Pickett > Fields and it's not even close. That means many GMs see Pickett as having the higher ceiling and it's easy to see why. Fields does not make good consistent quick decisions in the pocket. He is much better at making things happen outside of the pocket. That leads to an inconsistent offense.
The Steelers moves tell me they do not understand how to judge qbs. Neither Fields nor Wilson is known to be consistent executors that play with the structure of their offense. They are both known for their ability to make plays when things breakdown. The Steelers offense next year will be inefficient next year and probably more turnover prone. How does that lead to more victories??

Fields is garbage. But they didn’t give up anything. Steelers go dumpster diving for the most important position on the field
Well….they are paying more $ to Fields to be a backup which will limit Free Agent options and will have to decide by the end of May if they want to commit 25+ mil to Fields for his option year.

Reactions: pittbb80
By trade value , which is a market price, Pickett > Fields and it's not even close. That means many GMs see Pickett as having the higher ceiling and it's easy to see why. Fields does not make good consistent quick decisions in the pocket. He is much better at making things happen outside of the pocket. That leads to an inconsistent offense.