ADVERTISEMENT

ACC Championship thread

How does team scoring g work?
How does team scoring g work?

You get one point for each win. A bonus point for a major decision; 2 bonus points for a tech fall; 3 for a pin.

4 bonus points for a 3rd place finish; 7 for finishing 2nd; and 10 for winning your weight class.

For Pitt, Wentzel scored a point for his semi-final win and 10 for winning the final. I don’t remember if he had a first round match. If he did, that is another point.

Reactions: ThePanthers
I'm no wrestling expert, so I'll put out the question to those who know the sport as to how the Panthers wrestlers performed today?

Agree. On feet is where he excels though he ha a good ride today.
Agree, definitely better on his feet, plus he had a big lead in riding time to protect. The other wrestler was a big guy which gives him trouble on the bottom at times. It worked out, but didn't need to be that close at the end.

I'm no wrestling expert, so I'll put out the question to those who know the sport as to how the Panthers wrestlers performed today?

Really, overall they wrestled well. The only bad matches were Stoudt’s first and Taleb’s final. But, Hidlay is an absolute beast and he can dominate anyone.

The key match from a team perspective was Nino’s close loss in OT to the other Hidlay. If he wins that, it is at least a six point swing in the scores. Nino finishes no worse than second and Hidlay no better than third. Also, Harvey’s loss; however, I think we will find out that he was less than 100% physically.

From Stephen Patrick who was there, "It happened, Pitt would have won 80.5 to 79.5 they had an ACC team title stolen by an incompetent ref" He was talking about a non pin call for Mathews against an NC St wrestler.

From Stephen Patrick who was there, "It happened, Pitt would have won 80.5 to 79.5 they had an ACC team title stolen by an incompetent ref" He was talking about a non pin call for Mathews against an NC St wrestler.