ADVERTISEMENT

OT: Reflections of a longtime Penguins fan...

HOF Coach

All P I T T !
Gold Member
Dec 13, 2012
When I was a freshman at PITT back in 1972, the Penguins were starting only their 5th year of existence.

Growing up in a small, steelmaking town, I thought that it was the coolest thing to be able to walk down the steps from The Towers and hopping onto a bus for a quarter on Fifth Ave. that would take me within a couple of city blocks of the Civic Arena.

Back then, the Pens struggled to draw crowds and the tickets were dirt cheap. Once inside, you could pretty much sit wherever you wanted to. The thrill of seeing NHL hockey live and in person far outweighed the fact that the Pens weren't ever going to win a Stanley Cup in an era where Guy Lafleur's Montreal Canadiens and Bobby Orr's Boston Bruins dominated the league. Nor was it even conceivable that winning a Cup in Pittsburgh was ever going to be possible at all.

Even so, one of the Pens' first rivals in that expansion era was the St. Louis Blues, led by the 3 Plager brothers (Bob, Bill & Barclay). In 2009, HOF Hockey Writer, Dave Molinari, wrote a column in the PPG to recognize the Pens' "Dirty Dozen Villians" who opposed them at the soon to be vacated, Mellon (Civic) Arena. Dave's choice for #1?
"1. Barclay Plager. St. Louis was the Penguins' first bitter rival and Plager, a rugged defenseman, quickly became the lightning rod for the Civic Arena crowd, probably because he usually was at the center of the bench-clearing brawls that were a regular feature of Penguins-Blues games. They'll have to tear down the building to get rid of the lingering echoes of the derisive, sing-song "Bar-KLEE" chants that rained down every time he stepped onto the ice here."

Oh how we gave it to Barclay, each and every shift! That experience seduced me to become a diehard Pens' fan for life (and eventually a Season Ticket Holder).

Flash forward to today...