ADVERTISEMENT

B1G, SEC to receive three auto bids under proposed 14-team CFP expansion

How do they work, are you an expert?

To the extent that I understand there isn’t “SEC” math but just math, and the algorithm spits out what it spits out, yeah, I’m an expert.

Once again: it’s relative to the average team, not SEC teams.

are they ranked higher because they are in the SEC/Big 10 or are they ranked higher because the big 10 / sec get best recruits and best rosters with teams that have played and won against the best competition in football?

Tough to say, egg or chicken argument to be honest. lets face it, the 3rd or 4th team in the SEC is better than an undefeated G5 team 99% of the time. i dont think its a grand conspiracy here, more common sense than anything.

I think the SEC has earned the rep. BIG, not so much.

Reactions: cashisking884
I think the SEC has earned the rep. BIG, not so much.
Their top teams sure, but how about Vandy, South Carolina, Kentucky, MSU, Ole Miss, Florida, and others in recent years before this past year you could argue Pitt is right there with their middle teams, Pitt played Tennessee pretty even over 2 games, B1G is still The Big 2 and the rest as it has been for 100 years.

If this were to come to fruition, should the ACC stay divisionless or return to having divsions for football?

I get the point of going divisionless was to have your two best teams play in the conference championship game; but it feels a bit anti-climatic to play a conference championship game and then have both the winner and loser of that game go to the playoffs.

I'm sure in some years the 3rd place team would jump the loser of the conference championship game for the playoff spot, but in others there could be a 2+ loss gap between the 2nd and 3rd place team.