ADVERTISEMENT

OT Gronk

plcp

Assistant Coach
May 29, 2001
The horse that came in second was gronkowski, the one trailing by 15-20 lengths out of the gate. Gronk gave thevtriple crown winner a run for it. Very impressive drive by that horse.

Reactions: Saboteur
The horse that came in second was gronkowski, the one trailing by 15-20 lengths out of the gate. Gronk gave thevtriple crown winner a run for it. Very impressive drive by that horse.
#6? That was the worst start out of the gate I’ve ever seen.

Watched it again and gronk is more impressive on replay. That horse ran strong.

Damn horses who run in the States first time from coming across the pond seem to be strong.....
well sometimes.
Would have sucked if a horse named after that jerk stopped Justify.....

Triple Crown baby!!!!!!

Amazing that horse came in 2nd after that start. I’m no expert but I’ve never seen a slower horse out of the gate.

Amazing that horse came in 2nd after that start. I’m no expert but I’ve never seen a slower horse out of the gate.
Yeah

One thing, The Belmont is a mile and a half....they’re three yr olds and non haver ever yet run that far.........most never will again in their lives.

Gronkowski used the distance well for sure.

Last edited:

Needed the pace to be a little faster when you’re sitting that far back, but it’s often a winning strategy at a mile and a half. I actually thought he’d get there after the toll Justify took after 5 races in a short period of time, but he couldn’t close at the end.

Reactions: paulbl99
Needed the pace to be a little faster when you’re sitting that far back, but it’s often a winning strategy at a mile and a half. I actually thought he’d get there after the toll Justify took after 5 races in a short period of time, but he couldn’t close at the end.
I’m thinking it is a good strategy to sit back , but not with s start like that????

Baffert said up front Is where that horse is going to be and that is where he was...