ADVERTISEMENT

Graduate Transfers - the new free agency of college football

West Coast Panther

Scholarship
Aug 16, 2001
Surprised that no one had posted this already. This is a story from Sports Illustrated on the process of graduate transfers and how players can play for another school without sitting out the requisite one year typically imposed on transfer students.

Pitt is featured prominently through Nate Peterman and now Max Browne. The piece is meant as a debate that a long ago implemented rule is being abused for purposes outside of it's original intent. Speaking out against the process is Nick Saban and our good friend, 'I-just-signed-a-5.8 MM-extension' Jimmy-Franklin. In retrospect, I'm not surprised that Saban and coaches from colleges that actively have top 5 recruiting classes would not be in favor of the system. Instead they think it fair to stockpile these top notch recruits and sit them while their other top recruits get all of the reps. If i was a head coach that consistently won national championships doing this, then I guess I would likely feel the same way. But for players like Max, it gives you a second lease on life when you've played by the rules, but when it's your turn you have trouble making it onto the field.

I would dare say, that given how the process has worked out for the Panthers, that most of us support the grad student transfer process.

Overall, the article is fairly written and in general portrays Duz in a favorable light.

It is worth the read if you have a few minutes.

HTP
WCP

https://www.si.com/college-football/2017/08/17/ncaa-graduate-transfer-rules-free-agency

Last edited:
Free agency is one of the reasons I'm no longer an NFL, or any other pro sport fan.

I'll concede that Pitt has benefited from the rules, but I hope we don't start seeing mass roster changes each year.